General Information

  • Capital: Buenos Aires.
  • Language: Spanish.
  • Flag:The national flag of Argentina is a triband, composed of three equally wide horizontal bands colored light blue, and white with a sun shine in the middle
  • Currency: Argentina Peso.

Branches of Government

  • Executive: President and Vice President, elected by the people, through the Electoral College, to a four-year term; limited to two terms. There are also federal departments and agencies. Sixteen Ministries y Secretariats, each headed by a Minister.
  • Legislative: Senate of 72 members, two from each state; and House of Representatives of 257 members, divided among states proportionally by population.
  • Judicial: Supreme Court of 7 members appointed for life by the president, with Senate confirmation; and system of federal courts.

Political landscape:

  • Elections: The presidential election is held every four years. Members of the Senate are elected for six-year terms and members of the House of Representatives for four -year terms.
  • Political Parties: The Republican proposal, and the Peronian party are the two major political parties.
  • Administrative Divisions: twenty four states, Including the province of Buenos Aires.

History of Buenos Aires

The first foundation of Buenos Aires took place in March 1536, when Don Pedro de Mendoza established a block of building and called it "Puerto de Nuestra Señora Santa María del Buen Ayre" Fuerte of Buenos Aires surrounded  by indigenes.

Until 1994 it  was depending on the national government and was administered by a mayor appointed by the President of the Nation. From that date it became autonomous city and becomes governed by a head of government elected by popular vote.


The city of Buenos Aires, the capital of Argentina, lies on the southern shore of the Rio de la Plata River in east-central Argentina. This largest city in Argentina covers 203 km² (78.5 sq mi) of land area while the metropolitan of Buenos Aires is spread over 4,758 km² (1,837.1 sq mi) area. Geographically, Buenos Aires city is situated in province of same name, but it is politically autonomous. The Rio de la Plata on the east and the Riachuelo on south are the natural borders of the city. The metro offers shelter for about 13 million people.The geographical co-ordinates of the city are: 34º 36' S, 58º 26' W


The Buenos Aires city experiences four seasons, but the climate of the city remains mild throughout the year. The average annual temperature of the city is 18º C (64.4º F) and that makes the city pleasant in all seasons. Temperature during the winter season (from July to September) ranges between 3ºC to 8ºC. The coldest month is July and the lowest temperature ever recorded in central Buenos Aires was −5.4 °C (22 °F) on July 9, 1918. Most of the heaviest rainfall occurs during the months of winter but it can be expected at any time of the year. Average rainfall per year is around 1,147 mm (45 inches). Summers from December to March are hot and humid and the temperature ranges around 28ºC. The highest temperature ever recorded was 43.3 °C (109.9 °F) on January 29, 1957. Autumn (from March to June) and spring (from September to December) are the other seasons; wherein autumn is the best time to visit the city.